There comes a time when you might want to distance yourself from social media and focus less on online culture. And that’s fine. Let us help you. This is a thorough guide for anyone who wants to delete their Instagram account permanently or deactivate it temporarily on an iPhone or Android app and a computer. Find out what you should look out for when deleting an Instagram account.
Let’s look at what you should know before deleting your Instagram account now, so you don’t have to regret it later.
If you feel it’s time to take a break from Instagram, one of the largest social networks, you have two choices: delete or deactivate your account. There is a big difference between the two.
Suspending your Instagram account hides your comments, likes, all your photos, videos, followers count, and other details. Once you temporarily disable the account, no one will be able to see your profile, but you can still access your private messages, for example. Deactivation is easily reversible, and you can pick up where you left off at any time by logging into Instagram via the app or website.
Once you delete your account, Instagram will permanently delete all your profile content, including the photos, reels, mentions, comments, likes, and followers list. If you want to access your profile data in the future, we recommend you download a backup copy before deleting your account.
Once you press the delete button, your Instagram account is no longer publicly available. However, you have 30 days to change your mind. If you decide to return to Instagram, log back in with your username and password, and you will regain access to your profile.
After 30 days following the deletion request, Instagram permanently deletes all of your data – you will not be able to use or restore the account. This is why we suggest you save your photos, videos, archived posts, DM exchanges, and other relevant information from Instagram before deleting your account.
Instagram allows you to manage your data and download it if you decide to delete your account. Backup your photos, posted stories, reels, archived posts, and other data in case you need it in the future. Remember – once you delete your Instagram account, Instagram’s Data Download tool will not be accessible anymore.
Here’s a step-by-step guide on downloading your Instagram data on the Instagram app and website.
For the app
For the website
Once you request the information, it might take up to 14 days for Instagram to email you the download link.
Follow these steps to delete your Instagram account. The account deletion process is different on an iPhone, Android, or the website.
Follow the steps below to delete your Instagram account on your iPhone device.
Unfortunately, Instagram doesn’t allow you to delete your account on its Android and website versions. To delete your Instagram account, you need to access the Instagram account deletion page on your mobile web browser or computer. Follow these steps:
You may be wondering where to find that Instagram deletion page mentioned above. Here are the instructions:
Remember – you can only access the Instagram help center via the website, so open Instagram on any web browser to find the deletion page.
If you want to take a break from Instagram, you don’t have to permanently delete your account. Suspend your profile and come back whenever you feel like it. Follow the steps below to deactivate your Instagram account temporarily.
To delete your Instagram account, you must be logged in to your account. If you forgot your login credentials, you can recover your account in a few different ways:
Once you have restored your account, follow the deletion or deactivation instructions provided above.
With over a billion users worldwide, Instagram is one of the leading social networks we use to communicate and share experiences, tips, photos, and reels. But that doesn’t mean Instagram is safe for our well-being and cybersecurity. Below are the reasons why users decide to leave Instagram.
VPN service providers such as NordVPN offer additional security solutions if you’re concerned about data leaks. Dark Web Monitor continuously scans the dark web and will notify you about exposed personal data so you can take proper action. If you decide to keep your Instagram account, ensure your browsing experience is safe and consequence-free.