Telegram is a secure messaging app that provides end-to-end encrypted messages, video calling, VOIP, and file sharing. With privacy high on everyone's agenda, the demand for total-security is fierce, with little tolerance for anything that might fall short.
Whether you've found another messaging app, or ended up with far too many of them, deleting your Telegram account might be the only option.
Unfortunately, Telegram doesn't have a deactivation button within the app. Luckily we've found two simple ways to permanently delete your Telegram account, which we outline below.
Telegram is famous for being a secure alternative to other popular messaging apps. In most cases, we recommend using Telegram, but its understandable why some might want to delete their Telegram account:
Always use the NordVPN app to protect your personal data online. It encrypts your information while its in transit, hiding it from snooping ISPs and government trackers.
Leaving Telegram is irreversible, so here are a few points to consider before you delete your account permanently:
As you might have noticed, there is no option to deactivate your account instantly within the Telegram app. This is because the deactivation process involves both visiting a dedicated webpage and taking action in the app. You can also set your account to auto-destruct. This option requires less effort but takes a little longer.
Read on to learn more about both options and choose one that's best for you.
As a part of its security features, Telegram accounts are set for self-destruction after a certain time of inactivity. A default period is set to 6 months, meaning that if you don’t log into your Telegram account within that time, it will be deleted and your conversations will be gone forever.
You can’t disable the feature, but you can adjust the time after which your account would be deleted, ranging from 1 to 12 months. One of the ways to get rid of your account is set it to self-destruct after a month and then just wait. You can do so by following these steps:
If you don’t want to wait for your account to self-destruct, you can take delete your account manually.
As you might have noticed, there is no option to deactivate your account within the Telegram app. Instead, you'll have to visit a dedicated webpage.
That’s it! Your Telegram account is deactivated.
If you decide to use Telegram again, you might not be able to create a new account for several days after deactivation, so you’ll have to wait a bit to sign up again.
After deleting your Telegram account, you won't be able to recover any associated data like chat history or contacts. To use Telegram again you'll have to create a brand new account with your phone number.
Protecting your personal information is paramount to your safety, and since opening a Telegram account requires you to give your phone number, you could be left vulnerable to sim-swap attacks. What's more, Telegram's end-to-end encryption is only provided as a default setting within the Secret Chats option. This means that your regular chats and personal information are stored on Telegram's standard server-client encrypted cloud. Only Secret Chats are protected by an extra layer of client-client security, where your data is stored separately from the Telegram server and can only be accessed via the device of origin. That’s why you should always use a VPN to keep your device security extra sharp and help prevent any potential data leaks.
The NordVPN app masks your IP address, preventing anyone from knowing your whereabouts and identifying you. By routing your traffic through an encrypted tunnel, your online activity and data is hidden from ISP trackers and potential hackers.
If you’re looking for the ultimate privacy, use NordVPN whenever you go online. You can use NordVPN on up to 6 devices with just one account.