Your IP: Unknown · Your Status: ProtectedUnprotectedUnknown

How to delete your Twitter account for good

You can delete your Twitter account in a few simple steps. In this article, we explain how to deactivate and delete Twitter easily on different platforms.

Jomilė Nakutavičiūtė

Jomilė Nakutavičiūtė

How to delete your Twitter account for good

Can you delete Twitter for good?

About 6,000 tweets are sent out every second, so it’s no surprise that some users are feeling overwhelmed. Some have accused Twitter of fostering cyberbullying, abusive comments, and hate speech. Many users have decided to leave Twitter for good.

But can you actually delete Twitter? Yes, you can, but you should deactivate it first. If you don’t access your account within 30 days after the deactivation period, Twitter will delete your account and will no longer associate your username with it.

When Twitter deletes your account, you can no longer see your account, reactivate it, or see your Tweets. Your username will also be available for registration for other users. You can also download your Twitter data before deactivating your account by making a request to Twitter. Twitter can retain information on your deactivated account to ensure safety and security of the platform.

How to delete Twitter on Android

  1. Tap on the menu icon or profile photo in the upper left-hand corner and select “Settings and Privacy” from the dropdown.
  2. Select Settings and Privacy
  3. Tap on the “Your account” tab.
  4. Select Account
  5. Scroll down until you find the “Deactivate Account” tab and tap on it.
  6. Select Deactivate your account
  7. Read the information provided and then scroll down and tap on “Deactivate”.
  8. Select Deactivate
  9. You will have to confirm your password to complete the process.
  10. Confirm your password
  11. The app will once again ask you to confirm that you want to deactivate your account.
  12. Twitter will then confirm your decision.

Online security starts with a click.

Stay safe with the world’s leading VPN

How to delete Twitter on iOS

  1. Log into the Twitter app and click on your profile picture in the upper left-hand corner.
  2. click on your profile picture
  3. Select “Settings and privacy”.
  4. Select Settings and Privacy
  5. Select “Your account”.
  6. Select Your account
  7. Scroll to the bottom and select “Deactivate your account”.
  8. Select Deactivate your account
  9. On the next page, you will see some important information about what happens when you deactivate your account. Read it carefully and then tap “Deactivate”.
  10. Click Deactivate
  11. A new window will pop up. Enter your Twitter password and click “Deactivate”. Your account is now deactivated.
  12. Reenter your password

How to delete your Twitter on desktop

  1. Go to Twitter and log into your account.
  2. Tap on the “More” button on the left.
  3. How to delete your Twitter on desktop 1
  4. Select “Settings and privacy.”
  5. How to delete your Twitter on desktop 2
  6. Click “Deactivate your account” in the “Your account” section.
  7. How to delete your Twitter on desktop 3
  8. Click “Deactivate.”
  9. How to delete your Twitter on desktop 4
  10. Enter your password and click “Deactivate” again.
  11. How to delete your Twitter on desktop 5
  12. Congratulations! You’ve just deactivated your Twitter account. After the 30-day deactivation period, your account will be permanently deleted.

Why people leave Twitter

There are many reasons why users are deleting their Twitter accounts, and you might want to do it too if:

  • You feel overwhelmed by the amount of information. It’s becoming impossible to sieve through the important news stories and posts that are irrelevant to you.
  • It’s becoming too addictive and taking up too much of your precious time.
  • You find better alternatives to get the latest news and updates.

Twitter privacy issues

Twitter has the following privacy issues:

  • Twitter fails to deal with online harassment. Twitter attempted to do so by getting rid of egg avatars, but even if you block harassers, report them, or get their tweets filtered, their offensive comments will remain visible on other users’ timelines.
  • You don’t want Twitter to collect and store your data. This social media giants keep a record of everything from your basic user information and your location to your likes, links, and the widgets you use. It even has access to your address book. You can find more information about what data Twitter collects and who the company shares it with in its privacy policy.
  • Data breaches and leaks are a risk. Twitter has experienced cyberattacks in the past, so there is a chance that your credentials can get leaked or fall into the wrong hands.
  • Twitter can be harmful to vulnerable users because of the possibility of cyberbullying and offensive tweets.

Twitter security tips

Twitter can be a good source of information if you use it securely and follow reliable profiles. Here are a few tips on how stay safe on Twitter:

  • Don’t open obscure links and attachments sent by people you don’t trust.
  • If you get harassed, immediately block and report the user.
  • Do not share any personal, sensitive and confidential data publicly and to people you don’t know.
  • If you like using Twitter but don’t want it to collect all that data about you, change your privacy settings.
  • Use strong passwords and often change them.

Things you might want to consider before deleting Twitter

Whatever your reason for leaving may be, you should know the following before proceeding:

  • You might want to change your username and email address before deleting your twitter account. This way, if you decide to create a new account at a later date, you will be able to use the same email and username.
  • Once your account is deleted, your information will no longer be searchable on Twitter. However, the company doesn’t control the content indexed by search engines like Google, Yahoo or Bing, meaning that your old posts can live on whether you like it or not.
  • If you find it difficult to part with the data you’ve generated on Twitter, you can download your data archive. However, it will only provide you with partial data. It won’t include any lists, favorite tweets, direct messages or your photos.
  • You cannot delete your account immediately. You will have to deactivate your Twitter account and will be given 30 days to come back if you change your mind. After this grace period, your account will be irretrievable.

Other social media platforms

Deleting Twitter doesn't mean you have to get rid of your other social media accounts. If you decide yto stay connected to your other social media platforms, you'll want to read our social media privacy guide.


Jomilė Nakutavičiūtė
Jomilė Nakutavičiūtė Jomilė Nakutavičiūtė
Jomilė is a content writer who loves to investigate the latest Internet privacy and security news. She thrives on looking for solutions to problems and sharing her knowledge with NordVPN readers and customers.