Offering an immense variety of easy-to-access music and podcasts worldwide, Spotify has become a leading audio sharing platform. However, the competition in the audio streaming market is rough. So it’s no wonder if you want to transfer to another music streaming service and delete your old Spotify account. Read the following instructions and find out how to delete your Spotify account for good.
You may have multiple reasons to cancel your Spotify subscription and delete your account. These may be the same reasons you want to delete your Facebook or Instagram accounts: to avoid cyberstalking, because the platform lacks functionality, or an eagerness to start your digital minimalism journey.
Spotify has a history of security breaches compromising hundreds of thousands of user accounts and cracking social media privacy. Artists are regularly taking their music down from platforms, creating gaps in the catalog, which may force Spotify users to transfer to other platforms for certain music releases. Moreover, Spotify only offers up to 320 kbit/s of audio quality and no music videos. And some users leave because of how Spotify treats artists and pays low royalties per stream.
These downsides may make you want to terminate your Spotify subscription or permanently delete your account. Because the market is full of audio streaming alternatives, you don’t have to stick to one. Explore and find the most convenient streaming service to suit your needs.
Remember that you can only terminate your Spotify account using a web browser on your mobile device or computer. You cannot delete your account via mobile or desktop apps. What’s more, you must cancel your subscription to delete your Spotify account permanently. As soon as you delete your account, all your followers, likes, and playlists will also be deleted.
Use the following steps to terminate your Spotify account on the Spotify website:
That’s it – you’ve successfully terminated your Spotify account. If you experience issues during the deletion process, contact customer support through the Spotify support page.
You can delete your Spotify account on your mobile web browser. Log in and follow the above instructions to delete your account. Remember that you cannot terminate your Spotify account on mobile or desktop apps.
You can recover your deleted Spotify account if you change your mind or you suspect that your account has been stolen. As soon as you delete your account, Spotify will email you a reactivation link that you can use to recover your account within seven days of deletion. After seven days, Spotify will delete your account permanently and initiate the data deletion process for your information. Although you will not be able to recover your old account, you can always create a new one.
If you want to delete your Spotify account, you must cancel your subscription first. Follow these steps to terminate your Spotify premium subscription:
Done – your Spotify subscription is canceled. However, you can still use your premium account until the billing period ends. After that, your subscription will be downgraded to a free Spotify account, but you will still access your saved music and followers.
Spotify doesn’t have a deactivation function, unfortunately. If you wish to deactivate your Spotify account temporarily, cancel your premium subscription and switch to a free one. You will still be able to access your music library and listen with ads. Canceling a subscription will not delete your account, and you can resubscribe to a Spotify premium account whenever you want.
After you delete your Spotify account, you may want to find yourself an alternative for your daily dose of music and podcasts. Here are some possible platforms:
These are just a few of the most popular music streaming services you can swap to from Spotify. Many more are available depending on your music taste, preferences, and location.
Online security starts with a click.
Stay safe with the world’s leading VPN
We value your privacy