Why delete Amazon?
Maybe you no longer want to support Amazon’s business practices or its controversial HR policies. Maybe you simply no longer use Amazon and want to remove your sensitive financial information from the Internet. Whatever the reason, it’s a good idea to delete your account.
But be warned — you’ll have to arm yourself with patience first!
How to delete an Amazon account
- Go to Close Your Amazon Account.
- Sign into the account you want to close.
- Scroll down to the bottom of the page and choose the reason for closing your account from a drop-down menu.
- Tick the box next to Yes, I want to permanently close my Amazon account and delete my data and click Close my Account.
- Amazon will send you a link via email or a text message to confirm your action.
- Click the Confirm Account Closure link you received.
What happens when you delete your Amazon account?
There are plenty of services connected to your Amazon account that will no longer work after deletion. You'll also lose access to a lot of digital content.
Before you can delete your account for good, Amazon’s customer service team will send you an email with a detailed rundown of what will happen. Before that, however, it’s a good idea to check if there are any preparations you need to make. By deleting your account:
- You’ll lose access to all your Amazon accounts, including Audible.com and accounts on different country domains (like amazon.co.uk and amazon.de).
- You’ll lose access to digital content linked to your account, like Kindle ebooks, digital music, Amazon apps, and Prime videos.
- You won’t be able to use your Amazon gift cards or other vouchers.
- You won’t be able to return or refund items ordered by that account.
- You won’t be able to initiate Textbook Rental returns — but you will be held accountable for any outstanding rentals.
- You will lose access to the content in your Games & Software Library.
- Your reviews, posts, and other social content will be removed.
Can I reopen a closed Amazon account?
Once your account is closed, there is no way back. You won’t be able to access it and review your personal information such as purchase history and invoices.
If you change your mind after a while and decide to use Amazon services — you’ll have to create a new account.
Want to read more like this?
Get the latest news and tips from NordVPN
We won't spam and you will always be able to unsubscribe