Real news from the privacy world

The Complete Guide to Deleting Your Tinder Profile

Finally found your one and only? Or simply have enough of swiping left and right? If you feel you need to take a break from online dating and are wondering how to deactivate your Tinder account, this guide is exactly what you need.

Love, dating, phishing, and hacking

It’s a hacky world we are living in, even when it comes to romance and online dating. Despite being an extremely popular dating platform, with approximately 1.4 billion swipes a day, Tinder is also known as being one of the most insecure ones.

Recent research in the UK reveals that a total of 3,889 victims of such called “romance scams” lost more than £39m in 2016. According to the Action Fraud, the UK’s cyber-crime reporting center, more than 350 Tinder scams are reported each month. The trend seems to be similar in other countries as well.

The problem with bots

The major security problem on Tinder is so-called bots, automated programs that are designed to simulate conversations with other users.

The trick here is that these bots may look and sound like real people: flirtatious, good looking and friendly. Their profiles are often complete with detailed information and attractive pictures, so you can barely tell the difference. It is not surprising that even the most experienced daters become victims of these slick impostors.

When you match with a bot on Tinder, it may ask you to send some photos or private videos, lure you to a pornographic site or persuade to buy something you probably don’t even need. Their manners are so natural that many people easily succumb to the fraud and the outcome may not be a very pleasant one. Many have been blackmailed or tricked into paying for products or services without their knowledge, others have had their personal data stolen and sold to third parties.

Related: Protect Yourself From Tinder Scams and Hacks

Deleting the app is not enough

If you decided to break up with all your matches and stopped using Tinder a long time ago, it may be a good idea to come back and double-check. And there is a good reason for doing that.

Apparently, unlike most mobile applications, Tinder doesn’t let you go that easily and deleting the app off your device doesn’t mean you have deleted your account. Yes, that’s right – your profile remains active, together with all your pictures, matches and messages. This, of course, is not necessarily a bad thing because you can get back in the game anytime you wish. All you need to do is download the app again, sign in, and you will find your profile exactly as you left it.

However, most people do not find it very funny or convenient because when you choose to delete something, you want it deleted. Just think of it – someone is looking at your pictures and you have no idea that this is happening! Sounds kind of creepy, and it actually is.

Moreover – not disappearing from Tinder completely can even cause you some trouble if, for example, you are already dating or even happily married. “Why are you still on Tinder? Are you looking for someone else?” – you will probably hear these questions from time to time.

So if you are not sure whether your profile is still on Tinder or not, simply download the app and try to log in with your details. If you succeed, it means that your account hasn’t been deleted. Then follow instructions above and get rid of Tinder once and for all.

So how to delete your Tinder account for real?

Deactivating your Tinder account is actually a very easy task. Keep on reading and follow a few simple steps to cut ties with Tinder once and for all.

1.Open the app and tap on your profile icon in the top right corner of the screen.

2.Tap on “Settings” and scroll down till you reach the end.

3.Click “Delete account”.

From here, you have two options: you can choose to either hide or delete your profile. The only question here is whether you want to take a short break from your dates or completely disappear from the online love life.

When you click on “Delete account”, you will be asked for the reason why you are doing this. Click on one of the options provided and confirm your decision by clicking “Delete my account” or, once again, choose to hide it temporarily.

Congratulations! Your account is gone forever and you can finally come back to the real life.

Take a note: deleting your account doesn’t cancel your Tinder Plus subscription. So you will have to do it yourself by visiting the App Store or Google Play Store on your Android or iOS.

Did you find these tips useful? Let us know in the comments below



Try NordVPN for Free!

3 days of full security and privacy, with no strings attached

Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *