Around 300 million people use Zoom everyday. That’s an increase of 2900% since 2019, when the pandemic forced us to use video conferencing apps to stay connected. Recently, Zoom privacy concerns have made users switch to an alternative, or delete their Zoom account altogether.
Following news of a Zoom vulnerability, we don’t blame you for wanting to delete your Zoom account. Google, SpaceX, and Nasa, have all banned Zoom at work since it doesn’t support end-to-end encryption. In fact, we speak about malware and the worrying security flaws of Zoom on our Youtube channel. So, whether you’re done with Zoom dinner dates, online work meetings, or have simply moved on to a different video meeting app, we’re here to help you delete your Zoom account.
You can terminate your Zoom account from the Account Management section of your Account Profile. The only way to do this is by signing in on the Zoom website. You can’t do it through the Zoom app.
Terminating your Zoom account will permanently delete you as a user, including your settings, meetings, webinars, and recordings. If you change your mind, just head back to the Zoom website to sign up again.
Pro Tip: You can only delete your Zoom account by signing in on the Zoom website. You cannot delete your Zoom account from the Zoom desktop or mobile app.
Once you terminate your Zoom account, it's permanent. If you want to join Zoom again, you’ll need to create a new account.
Note: This next step will permanently terminate your Zoom account. Termination cannot be undone.
Note: You have now terminated your Zoom account permanently. To re-join Zoom, you will need to sign up to Zoom again and create a new profile.
Yes. You can cancel your Zoom account, subscription, or add-ons at any time. You can even cancel your Zoom account on the same day that you create it.
Free or basic Zoom users can easily delete their account at any time. If you are a paid Zoom user (you pay for a monthly Zoom subscription,) you need to cancel your subscription before you can terminate your account.
Note: All Zoom users must delete their account by signing in to the Zoom website. Users cannot delete their account via the Zoom mobile apps.
Zoom also offers paid subscriptions with extra features. Group meetings can run for longer than 40 minutes, and you can host up to 300 participants, for example. If you have a paid Zoom subscription, there are a few extra steps required for account deactivation.
Hopefully, these instructions have helped you delete your Zoom account. Check out our YouTube channel for other step-by-step guides, or browse through our other blog posts for simple explanations of some of the most complex issues in cybersecurity.
Want to read more like this?
Get the latest news and tips from NordVPN.
We value your privacy