Telegram is one of those secure messaging apps that offer end-to-end encryption to keep your communications away from the eyes of unwanted snoopers. As more and more users turn to the privacy side, competition among security-focused messengers is getting tight.
If you’ve decided to leave Telegram because you have one too many of this kind of apps or you’re sticking to an alternative one, deleting your Telegram account seems like a thing to do.
If you’ve tried to look for deactivation button within the app and had no luck – you’ve come to the right place. It takes no time to delete a Telegram account when you know what to do, so let us present you with the options and guide you through the steps.
Leaving Telegram is a one-way trip. Here are a few points to consider before you make your account vanish:
As you might have noticed, there is no option to deactivate your account instantly within the Telegram app. This is because the deactivation process involves both visiting a dedicated webpage and taking action in the app. Another way to delete Telegram takes minimal effort from you but takes longer, as you set your account for delayed auto-destruction.
Read on to learn more about both options and choose the one that is better for you.
As a part of its security features, Telegram accounts are set for self-destruction after a certain time of inactivity. A default period is set to 6 months, meaning that if you don’t log into your Telegram account within that time, it will be deleted and your conversations will be gone forever.
You can’t disable the feature, but you can adjust the time after which your account would be deleted, ranging from 1 to 12 months. One of the ways to get rid of your account is set it to self-destruct after a month and then just wait. Of course, you shouldn’t be using Telegram within that time.
If you don’t want to wait by leaving your account for auto-deletion, you can take the initiative yourself. Read on to learn how to deactivate your Telegram account manually.
Follow these steps to delete your Telegram account in no time. As you might have noticed, there is no option to deactivate account within the Telegram app.
That’s it! Now your Telegram account is deactivated so can no longer use the app.
In case you decide that you want to use Telegram again, you may not be able to create a new account for several days after deactivation, so you’ll have to wait a bit to get onboard again.