Your IP: Unknown · Your Status: Unprotected Protected

Blog How-To

How to delete your Skype account

Jan 25, 2018 · 4 min read

How to delete your Skype account

Now that so many apps have built-in voice and video call functions, Skype is becoming less and less popular. This, along with significant concerns about government surveillance and privacy, means that deleting your Skype account might be a good idea.

Unfortunately, that’s sometimes easier said than done.

How to delete a Skype account

When Microsoft acquired Skype, it became an integral part of Microsoft accounts. This means that in order to delete your Skype account, you have to delete your entire Microsoft account. If you don’t use any other Microsoft services, this will probably be an easy choice. If you use other Microsoft services or products like Xbox Live or Outlook but want to stop using Skype, consider simply deleting all of your conversations or deleting the Skype app from your various devices.

When you complete the process, Microsoft will initiate a 30-day waiting period. After the 30 days pass, they will delete your Skype account permanently.

On desktop:

1. Start by finding the profile icon in the upper left-hand corner.

Find the profile icon

2. Clicking on it will open a pop-up menu. Find the Settings tab and click on it.

Find the Account and profile tab

3. This will open the Account & Profile menu. Click on Close your account. Skype will ask you to verify your identity in a few different ways depending on the information you’ve entered. You may have to re-enter your password and then verify your account via email or SMS. Once you’ve done so, you’ll advance to the next window.

Click on Close your account

4. Read the items in this window and follow their instructions if any of them are relevant to you. You will be closing your entire Microsoft account, so there may be a few other accounts you might want to take care of before moving on. Once you’re sure you want to continue, click on Next.

Click on Next

5. The next window will feature a checklist that will make sure you understand the consequences of deleting your Microsoft account. If you don’t use any other Microsoft services, this checklist will be largely irrelevant to you. If you do, review each item to make sure you want to delete your account. Then, select the reason for deletion from the drop-down menu (or select My reason isn’t listed) and click on Mark account for closure.

Click on Mark account for closure

Microsoft will give you a grace period of 30 days to change your mind. If you don’t, your Skype account will be deleted permanently along with the rest of your Microsoft account.

On mobile:

1. Start by clicking on your profile icon in the top center of your Skype window.

Click on your profile icon

2. Once you’re in, click on the gear icon in the upper right-hand corner.

Click on the gear icon

3. This will open your settings menu. Find and click on the Account and profile tab.

Click on the Account and profile tab

4. In the next tab, you’ll see the option to Close your account. Click on it.

Click on the Close your account tab

6. At this point, you will be asked to confirm your identity. This may involve re-entering your password, and the other options will depend on the information you’ve provided Skype with. You can opt to receive an SMS or an email with a verification code. Follow the instructions until you see a tab asking you to Make sure that your account is ready to close. Read the list and make sure that none of the items are relevant to you before clicking on Next.

Make sure that your account is ready to close and then click Next

7. The next tab will include a checklist explaining the consequences of deleting your Microsoft account. If Skype is the only Microsoft service you use, most of these items will be irrelevant to you. If not, read them over carefully to ensure you understand them before checking them and moving down the list. At the bottom, you will have to select the reason for deleting your account from a drop-down menu. Select the reason (or indicate that your reason is not on the list) and click on Mark account for closure.

Click on Mark account for closure

Microsoft will give you a grace period of 30 days to change your mind. If you don’t, your Skype account will be deleted permanently along with the rest of your Microsoft account.

How to delete a Skype message

If you don’t use Skype anymore, it can be a good idea to clear your conversations of any sensitive or private information. Old and unused apps can become vulnerable to break-ins if your old passwords are discovered or if the apps’ creators stop updating them. Here’s how to delete Skype messages:

On desktop:

1. Enter the conversation with the Skype message you want to delete by clicking on it in the left-hand column.

Click on the conversation you want to delete a message from

2. Find the message you’d like to delete and click on the three small dots that appear next to it when your mouse hovers over it. When you do, you’ll see a dropdown menu. Click on Remove and you’ll delete your Skype message!

Click on Remove

On mobile:

1. Go to the Chats tab and tap on the conversation that contains the message you’d like to delete.

Tap on the conversation containing the message you'd like to delete

2. Find the message you’d like to delete from your conversation and hold your finger down on it. After a few moments, a menu will pop up. Hit Remove and the message is gone!

Tap on Remove

How to delete a Skype conversation

Deleting an entire Skype conversation history is a surefire way to delete private or sensitive information. However, don’t forget one thing – the Skype user you’ve been talking to will retain a record of their messages (unless they agree to delete them too). Keep that in mind if you ever need both sides of a Skype conversation to disappear!

On desktop:

1. This one’s easy. Once you’ve found the conversation you’d like to delete, right click on it and you’ll see a drop-down menu. Click on Delete chat to wipe out the conversation (but don’t forget – the other member of the conversation will still have a record of the messages they wrote!)

On mobile:

1. Find the conversation you’d like to delete in the Chats tab. Hold your finger down on it and you’ll get a pop-up menu.

2. Select Delete chat on the pop-up menu and the conversation is gone! (Note: once again, this will only delete your record of the messages you’ve shared. Your contact will still retain their side of the conversation.)

Deleting other accounts

Interested in clearing out some other accounts to lighten your digital footprint? Take a look at our other posts:

For more great privacy and cybersecurity tips, sign up for our monthly blog newsletter below!


Daniel Markuson
Daniel Markuson successVerified author

Daniel is a digital privacy enthusiast and an internet security expert. As the blog editor at NordVPN, Daniel is generous with spreading news, stories, and tips through the power of a well-written word.


Subscribe to NordVPN blog