Su IP: Unbekannt · Su estado: Desprotegido Protegido

Blog Cómo

How to delete your Twitter account for good

Apr 25, 2019 · 3 minuto de lectura

How to delete your Twitter account for good

6,000 tweets are sent out every second, so it’s no surprise that some users are feeling overwhelmed. Some have accused Twitter of fostering cyberbullying, abusive comments and hate speech. Many users have decided to leave Twitter for good, and you can delete your Twitter account too in a few simple steps.

How to delete Twitter on Android

  1. Tap on the menu icon or profile photo in the upper left-hand corner and select Settings and Privacy from the dropdown.
  2. Select Settings and Privacy

  3. Tap on the Account tab.
  4. Select Account

  5. Scroll down until you find the Deactivate your account tab and tap on it.
  6. Select Deactivate your account

  7. Read the information provided and then scroll down and tap on Deactivate.
  8. Select Deactivate

  9. You will have to confirm your password to complete the process.
  10. Confirm your password

  11. The app will once again ask you to confirm that you want to deactivate your account.
  12. Confirm deactivation

  13. Twitter will then confirm your decision.

How to delete Twitter on iOS

  1. Log into the Twitter app and click on your profile picture in the upper left-hand corner.
  2. Select Settings and privacy.
  3. Select Settings and Privacy

  4. Select Account.
  5. Select Account

  6. Scroll to the bottom and select Deactivate the account.
  7. Select Deactivate the account

  8. On the next page, you will see some important information about what happens when you deactivate your account. Read it carefully and then tap Deactivate.
  9. Click Deactivate

  10. A new window will pop up. Enter your Twitter password and click Deactivate. Your account is now deactivated.
  11. Reenter your password

How to delete your Twitter on desktop

  1. Go to Twitter and log into your account.
  2. Click your profile icon at the top right-hand corner. Select Settings and Privacy from the drop-down menu.
  3. Select Settings and Privacy

  4. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click Deactivate your account.
  5. Scroll to the bottom of the page

  6. On the next page, you will see some important information about what happens when you deactivate your account. Read it carefully and then tap Deactivate.Read important information before you deactivate your account

  7. A new window will pop up. Enter your Twitter password and click Deactivate account.
  8. Read important information before you deactivate your account

  9. Congratulations! You’ve just deactivated your Twitter account. After the 30-day deactivation period, your account will be permanently deleted.

Why people leave Twitter

There are many reasons why users are deleting their Twitter accounts, and you might want to do it too if:

  • You feel overwhelmed by the amount of information. It’s becoming impossible to sieve through the important news stories and posts that are irrelevant to you;
  • It’s becoming too addictive and taking up too much of your precious time;
  • Twitter fails to deal with online harassment. Twitter attempted to so by getting rid of egg avatars, but even if you block harassers, report them, or get their tweets filtered, their offensive comments will remain visible on other users’ timelines.
  • You don’t want Twitter to collect and store your data. This social media giants keep a record of everything from your basic user information and your location to your likes, links and widgets you engaged with and even your address book. You can find more information about what data Twitter collects and who do they share it with in their privacy policy.

Artigos relacionados


Things you might want to consider before proceeding

Whatever your reason for leaving may be, you should know the following before proceeding:

  • If you like using Twitter but don’t want it to collect all that data about you, changing your privacy settings might be enough.
  • You might want to change your username and email address before deleting your account. This way, if you decide to create a new account at a later date, you will be able to use the same email and username.
  • Once you delete your account, your information will no longer be searchable on Twitter. However, the company doesn’t control the content indexed by search engines like Google, Yahoo or Bing, meaning that your old posts can live on whether you like it or not.
  • If you find it difficult to part with the data you’ve generated on Twitter, you can download your data archive. However, it will only provide you with partial data. It won’t include any lists, favorite tweets, direct messages or your photos.
  • You cannot delete your account immediately. Twitter will first deactivate the account and will give you 30 days to come back if you change your mind. After this grace period, your account will be irretrievable.

For more privacy tips, subscribe to our monthly blog newsletter below!


Emily Green
Emily Green successAutor verificado

Emily Green es una creadora de contenido a la que le encanta investigar sobre las últimas novedades sobre privacidad y seguridad en Internet. Ella disfruta buscando soluciones a los problemas y compartiendo su conocimiento con los lectores y clientes de NordVPN.


Suscríbase al Blog de NordVPN