Now that so many apps have built-in voice and video call functions, Skype is becoming less and less popular. This, along with significant concerns about government surveillance and privacy, means that deleting your Skype account might be a good idea.
Unfortunately, that’s sometimes easier said than done.
Feeling like you can’t delete your Skype account? It’s because Microsoft has made it incredibly difficult to do so. But the good news is that it’s not impossible. When Microsoft acquired Skype, it became an integral part of Microsoft accounts. This means that in order to close your Skype account, you have to delete your entire Microsoft account.
When you complete the process, Microsoft will initiate a 60-day grace period. During this period you can still recover your account by signing in and it will still be discoverable in search directory. After that, they will delete your Skype account permanently.
To permanently delete your Skype account, follow these steps:
Now wait 60 days and your Skype account will be deleted permanently along with the rest of your Microsoft account.
Unfortunately, the account deletion process on Skype’s mobile application doesn’t seem to work currently. We advise you to delete your account on the desktop version or go straight to your Microsoft account.
If you don’t use any other Microsoft services, deleting your Microsoft account will probably be an easy choice. However, if you use other Microsoft services or products like Xbox Live or Outlook but want to stop using Skype, you may not want to delete your account completely. But how do you delete Skype if you can’t delete your Microsoft account? Unfortunately, the only way is to minimize your personal information and then delete the app from all your devices. Microsoft won’t let you unlink your account.
If you don’t use Skype anymore, it can be a good idea to clear your conversations of any sensitive or private information. Old and unused apps can become vulnerable to break-ins if your old passwords are discovered or if the apps’ creators stop updating them. Here’s how to delete Skype messages:
Deleting an entire Skype conversation history is a surefire way to delete private or sensitive information. However, don’t forget one thing – the Skype user you’ve been talking to will retain a record of their messages (unless they agree to delete them too). Keep that in mind if you ever need both sides of a Skype conversation to disappear!
If you want to remove the application from your device, follow these steps. Whether you're using Android of iOS, the process should be roughly the same.
Remember, this won't delete your account or data. These steps simply remove the app from your smartphone.
If you’re serious about leaving Skype and you have a paid Skype subscription, you should cancel that, too. Otherwise, it could continue billing you even if you don’t use it. Follow these steps to cancel your subscription:
Skype no longer deletes inactive accounts as they’ve been merged with Microsoft accounts. Deleting them would have a direct effect on other Microsoft services. However, Skype has previously deleted inactive accounts that haven’t been merged with a Microsoft account. Wondering if your account was deleted?
After you’ve deleted your Skype account, you’ll have the 60-day cooling-off period during which you can change your mind. Once that’s over, however, you won’t be able to log into your account as it will now be permanently disabled.
This also means that you will no longer appear in the search results and your contacts won’t be able to find your profile. All your chat history and any files you shared will be gone forever.
Want to read more like this?
Get the latest news and tips from NordVPN.