Only ten years ago Tumblr was one of the most popular social media platforms. Now, things have changed. Content controversies, data breaches, and new rivals have slowly killed it. It’s time to say goodbye and delete your Tumblr account.
Jun 09, 2021 · 3 min read
Tumblr can be great fun, but its popularity has decreased sharply in recent years. Here’s a few reasons why people choose to leave the platform:
If you want to delete your account, you have to perform this in a browser. The app doesn’t support this option and only allows users to delete secondary or group blogs.
Deleting your Tumblr account will remove any primary and secondary blogs you have created. While some social media sites allow you to recover your account after deleting, it’s not the case with Tumblr.
After you delete your account, you won’t be able to restore it. So think carefully before proceeding and make sure that you understand the consequences.
However, if you only delete a secondary blog, it doesn’t affect your account or primary blog.
If you close your Tumblr account, you won’t be able to access your blog using its URL. This means that it’s gone forever. When you visit Tumblr and type your credentials, you won’t be able to login.
Does Tumblr delete inactive blogs? If you haven’t logged into your account for more than a year, the service will send you a reminder that your username is going to expire. After a certain period, your username will be released for other people to use. However, this doesn't mean that your account will be deleted.
When you delete your Tumblr account, your blogs, messages, and all activities are removed permanently. You won’t be able to login into your account, find your blog using your URL, or view your messages.
Want to read more like this?
Get the latest news and tips from NordVPN