Your IP: Unknown · Your Status: Unprotected Protected

Blog How-To

How to delete your Uber account

Nov 11, 2019 · 2 min read

How to delete your Uber account

You may be surprised to learn just how much Uber knows about you, especially when it comes to your sensitive geolocation data. Can you be sure that data is in good hands? Here’s how to delete your Uber account in case you are worried about your privacy.

Why delete your Uber account?

While Uber is a handy tool to get from A to B quickly, there are multiple reasons why you might want to delete it:

  • Uber collects your data to share it with third parties for advertising purposes and internal use. Uber might also use it to target you with ads. If you use the service often, you give out a lot of private info about yourself, especially concerning your location;
  • Uber is known for misusing their customers’ data. In one scandal, Uber employees tracked users just for fun;
  • Uber suffered from several major data breaches. A 2016 breach disclosed the personal data of 600,000 drivers and 57 million customers. Given that the app stores your geographical data, cybercriminals might see where you live and work.

How to delete my Uber account

Deleting the Uber app is pretty easy. Here’s how:

On mobile

1. Open the Uber app;

2. Press the three stripes on the top left;

Delete Uber account

3. Tap Settings;

Delete Uber account

4. Go to Privacy Settings;

Delete Uber account

5. Press Delete your account in the bottom;

Delete Uber account

6. Enter your password and tap Verify;

Delete Uber account

7. You will see a screen informing you that Uber will deactivate your account for 30 days and then delete it. Tap Continue;

Delete Uber account

8. You can then pick a reason for deletion if you wish;

Delete Uber account

9. Click Delete on the final screen.

Delete Uber account

Desktop

1. Click on Help Center at the very bottom of their homepage;

2. Click More under Account and payment options;

Delete Uber account

3. Choose Delete my Uber account;

Delete Uber account

4. Click Delete my Uber account;

Delete Uber account

5. Log in and follow further instructions.

What to consider before deleting your Uber account

  • You will lose all your bonuses and earned points after deleting the account;
  • Your Uber Eats account will be removed as well;
  • If you were unable to delete your account, you can contact their customer service by pressing this link, clicking I was unable to delete my account, and following their instructions.

Delete Uber account

To learn more about cybersecurity, subscribe to our monthly blog newsletter below!


Paul Black
Paul Black successVerified author

Paul is a technology and art enthusiast who is always eager to explore the most up-to-date issues in cybersec and internet freedom. He is always in search for new and unexplored angles to share with his readers.


Subscribe to NordVPN blog