Skip to main content

Home Certified Information Systems Security Professional

Certified Information Systems Security Professional

(also CISSP)

Certified Information Systems Security Professional definition

CISSP stands for Certified Information Systems Security Professional. It's a respected global certification in cybersecurity offered by (ISC)².

Those who earn CISSP demonstrate expertise in eight key areas of information security:

  • Managing security risks
  • Protecting assets
  • Designing secure architecture
  • Securing networks and communications
  • Managing identity and access
  • Conducting security assessments and tests
  • Handling security operations
  • Securing software development

To get CISSP:

  • You need five years of relevant work experience in at least two of these areas. But, a related college degree or another certification can reduce this by a year.
  • You have to pass a challenging exam covering these domains.
  • Once you pass, an existing (ISC)²-certified professional must vouch for you.
  • To keep the CISSP status, you need to continue learning in the field and renew the certification every three years.
  • Having a CISSP can boost a career in cybersecurity, marking the holder as a knowledgeable professional in the field.