Your IP: Unknown · Your Status: Unprotected Protected

How to watch Ligue 1 with NordVPN

It takes only 3 simple steps to watch live sports in the comfort of your own home.

1. Get NordVPN

Download and subscribe to NordVPN. Or, get a free trial and take NordVPN for a test drive at first.

2. Connect to server

Connect to a server in the country where the streaming site is not restricted.

3. Enjoy the game

Shout, clap, whistle and cheer! Just make sure you have a streaming service subscription if required.

ligue 1

If you’re cheering for Les Bleus when it comes to the world championships, the French Ligue 1 might be the right football event for you to enjoy. Many great footballers from France, such as legendary Zinedine Zidane, Thierry Henry, Franck Ribéry, Karim Benzema and a number of others have built outstandingly successful careers in the best-performing clubs of Europe.

In the Ligue 1, the primary football league in France, 20 clubs compete to win the champions title and to proudly hoist the L’Hexagoal trophy. The season of the Ligue 1 runs from August through September, bringing 380 French football matches to the fans worldwide. Currently, the Ligue 1 stands among the top 5 European football leagues together with the English Premier League, the Spanish La Liga, the German Bundesliga and the Italian Series A.

The Paris Saint Germain are the champions of the season 2015-2016. Will the Parisians defend their title this year or we will see another team reaching the top of the La Ligue 1? There are some serious rivals out there, especially the AS Monaco and the OGC Nice, who are determined to challenge the Paris Saint Germain. Do not miss a match and see which team will demonstrate the superiority this season. You can watch La Ligue 1 on BT Sport (UK), fuboTV (U.S.) and beIN Sports (France). Away from the country? Get NordVPN and stream sports from anywhere on Earth – well, except Antarctica.

3 things you need to know about the Ligue 1

The name. The Ligue 1 was founded in 1932, but it wasn’t called like that back then. The primary French football league was inaugurated under the name National. After one year of existence, the name was changed to Division 1. It took almost 70 years for the league to get the name by which we know it now – it was renamed as Ligue 1 only in 2002.

The competition. In the Ligue 1, each team gets to play every team twice – home and away, and that makes a total of 38 matches per team. The champion’s title is not the only motivation for reaching the top in the Ligue 1 standings table. At the end of a season, the first and the second teams get their lucky tickets to the Champions League. While they proceed directly to the group phase, the third team has to enter the qualification stage and fight for a chance to compete with the best European clubs the forthcoming season. The fourth team in the Ligue 1 isn’t left with empty hands as well – it qualifies for the UEFA Europa League.

The trophy. Starting from the 2007-2008 season, the champion team is awarded with the L’Hexagoal trophy. The Olympique Lyonnais, the champions of that season, had an honor to be the first ones to hoist the L’Hexagoal. How did the award get this name? Here’s some pre-history: when the trophy was newly designed and created, it was still nameless. The public got involved in the name selection process: people sent their suggestions and then an open online voting was organized to determine the winner. L’Hexagoal stood out significantly – with more than a half of total votes, it became the name for the Ligue 1 champion’s trophy.

What’s up next?

Click on the sporting event to see where you can watch it online.