You might want to delete Snapchat for many reasons. Many were annoyed by its recent redesign. Others were offended by its jokes about domestic violence or the self-image it promoted. Add certain security concerns, and uninstalling Snapchat might seem like a good idea.
Like any social network, it can also become a distraction and a risk to your online privacy. Fortunately, deleting Snapchat is easy.
You can delete your Snapchat account via the Accounts page:
After your Snapchat is deactivated, you still have 30 days to reactivate your account. To do so, just log back in to the Snapchat app with your username and password within these 30 days. You have to be patient as it sometimes takes up to 24 hours to reactivate an account.
To delete your account permanently, all you have to do is refrain from logging into the app for 30 days after you deactivate your Snapchat. After this period, your Snapchat account will be mostly gone, but not completely. Snapchat’s privacy guidelines state that they retain some personal data due to legal, security and business needs. This includes info about your purchases and the accepted terms of service.
Snapchat stores three types of information:
It can share this info with other users, sister companies, business partners or with concerned parties when required by law. It also uses it for internal purposes (e.g., ad-targeting). You can also download your data or revoke permission to use it at the expense of certain functions.
Not only is Snapchat not a private platform, it is not a very secure one. Snapchat does not use end-to-end encryption. You can find secure messaging apps that value your privacy here